Elections

SRP elections

The officials of each organization are elected on the first Tuesday in April of even-numbered years. The next scheduled Association and District elections are April 7, 2020. Positions open for election are:

Association: One position on the Board of Governors in each of voting districts 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9; and three positions on the Council in each of voting districts 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9. All Association positions have four-year terms. See the Association Fact Sheet Document is a PDF for additional election information regarding the Association election.

District: One position on the Board of Directors in each of voting divisions 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9; two at-large Board of Director positions, 11 and 13; and three positions on the Council in each of voting divisions 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9. All District positions have four-year terms. See the District Fact Sheet Document is a PDF for additional election information regarding the District election.

2020 SRP elections key dates

Unless otherwise noted, dates and activities apply to both the Association (A) and District (D) elections.

Wed., Nov. 27, 2019

First Call for Candidates Document is a PDF

Wed., Dec. 4

Second Call for Candidates Document is a PDF

Sun., Dec. 29

Land ownership cut-off date

Sun., Jan. 5, 2020

• First Notice of Elections Ad to appear Document is a PDF
• First day to accept applications for Early Ballots by Mail. Prior to this date, applications to be placed on the Permanent Early Voter List can be submitted and be in effect for the April 7 elections.

Wed., Jan. 8

First day to accept Nomination Papers

Sun., Jan. 12

Second Notice of Elections Ad to appear Document is a PDF

Fri., Feb. 7

Deadline to file Nomination Papers and Petitions

Thurs., Feb. 27

Deadline for write-in candidates to file Nomination Papers

Mon., March 9

Deadline for Arizona voter registration (D)

Wed., March 11

• First day to mail Early Voting Ballots
• Early Voting Center Opens
     SRP Administration Building, 1500 N. Mill Ave., Tempe
     Mon. through Fri., 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
     Wed., March 11 through Mon., April 6

Fri., March 27

Last day to accept Applications for Early Voting Ballots by Mail

Tues., March 31

Public test

Mon., April 6

Last Day of Voting at Early Voting Center

Tues., April 7

ELECTIONS DAY

In-person voting at SRP Voting Center from 6 a.m. – 7 p.m.:
SRP Administration Building
1500 N. Mill Ave., Tempe

Drop-off locations:

  • SRP West Valley Service Center from 6 a.m. – 7 p.m.
    221 N. 79th Avenue, Tolleson, Arizona, 85353
  • SRP Southside Water Service Center from 6 a.m. – 7 p.m.
    3160 S. Alma School Road, Mesa, Arizona, 85210

Early Voting Ballots must be hand-delivered to the SRP Corporate Secretary's Office, SRP Voting Center, or designated drop-off locations no later than 7 p.m. to be counted.

Mon., April 13

Canvass meeting – official elections results announced

Mon., May 4 –
Tues., May 5

Newly elected officials seated